Home

December 21, 2012

Shameless plug: I made a video. It’s at the end of this post; read before you watch though!

Well, no, I’m not in school. But, yes, I participated in this snow day. Since I’ve returned from Europe, I’ve finally had time (or have made the time) to really start delving into some non-school related creative endeavors. Sources of inspiration abound, one of my favorites is a comedienne and blogger, Gaby Dunn. She is smart and hilarious, contributing to Thought Catalogue (if you haven’t checked this one out, do so immediately), New York Times Magazine, GOOD Magazine, Salon, Huffington Post, etc. In reading her essays I sometimes feel as though she is writing about my life – only if I were living in New York and really into comic books.

What I am saying is that I really believe in what this chick is doing. The first essay of Dunn’s (I don’t think we are on a first-name basis, yet) that I read, and subsequently proved to be the catalyst for my Gaby Dunn-love and -admiration, is titled “I Want You.” Instantly, I knew I had to do something with this posting as it was everything I had ever felt when I was/am crushing on someone – but in a funny rather than groveling and pathetic sort of way.

Having a crush inherently brings angst into your life: there is a certain vulnerability and insecurity in that lusting. You know exactly what I am talking about – that feeling where you think that your arms are likely to fall off if they reject you and then you will never find someone else as lovely as that one person you want. It can make the steeled, blubber and the sane, crazy and the rational, as irrational as the packaging on a new CD and the confident, a pimply, angsty teenager all over again.

I made a VIDEO about that feeling.

20121229-162251.jpg

Leave a Reply

